Skip to main content

Nature, Risk and Resilience Reporting - Privacy, Ownership & Data Control FAQs

What happens when a Farm / Holding revokes access?

  • If a farm chooses to revoke their submission, their submission will be set to Revoked.

  • Once revoked, the submission cannot be viewed at all by the organisation.

  • Metrics generation is also paused for Revoked submissions.

  • If the farm later re-submits their information, the submission will be set to Pending and needs to be Accepted again by the organisation.

  • If the organisation accepts the submission, the latest metrics will be generated AND the organisation will also have access to the historical metrics generated when your submission was previously in an Accepted state (i.e. before it was Revoked).

How can I stop sharing my data via Land App?

As farmers, you own your own data. Which means if you wish to "be forgotten", you can do this by "revoking" access to your maps.

To complete this navigate to the map that contains the plans that were shared.
Click on the Leaf Icon at the top of the screen.

On the Farm info page, scroll to the bottom.

In the publish section, you should see your submission there. Select Review.

Click on the Stop sharing button.

How is my data handled?

Data is handled in accordance with our User Terms.

  • Land App is certified by the British Farm Data Council, meeting their Standards for good practice with respect to Data handling. You can learn more here.

  • For an in-depth view of the Land App terms, including who owns the data (which is the “Map Owner”, i.e. you in the Waitrose project) and how you can repatriate or remove access, please see the Farm Data Principles here.

Who has access to the data I share through Nature Reporting, and what data can they see?

Your data is only accessible to Land App and the Nature Reporting organisation(s) that you share it with.

Land App is a signatory to the British Farm Data Council’s Farm Data Principles and is not permitted to share your data without your explicit consent. The key elements of the Farm Data Principles are that:

  • Your data is your data

  • Our organisation makes data easy

  • Our organisation keeps your data safe

  • Our organisation is clear about the value and benefit of data sharing

When you set up your Land App account, you provide contact details to Land App, which allows Land App to contact you to provide you with help and support. This contact information is not shared with any third parties.

Specifically, for Nature Reporting:

  • No contact information is shared through Nature Reporting; the only identifying data provided to the Nature Reporting organisation(s) that you share it with is the holding name and map name that you provide, the Country and County in which you farm, and the processors that you supply to.

  • Land App has access to this information to help identify any submission issues, track progress, and provide support as you come through the process.

  • The remainder of the data shared through Nature Reporting relates to the 68 Nature Reporting metrics that Land App reports on to provide insights on habitat health, nature impact and farm-resilience

Did this answer your question?